RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New Server Hardware Build Question

xtitan1

Question:

I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction for my home server solution.

Background:

I have received a free copy of WSE2012R2 from my school (I'm a grad student studying Information Systems). That's perfect because I currently have a WHSv1 computer with 9TB that, believe it or not, is at full capacity and I need to upgrade, especially since I am noticing some SMART errors.

I was thinking I would just start from scratch and build a new server—this time in rackmount so that I could more easily expand storage in the future—and then transfer the files via my network from the WHSv1 to the new WSE2012R2 server. I could then retire the WHSv1 to be a test computer or make it into a router or something for fun.

However, I'm not experienced with how server hardware and RAID or controller cards work exactly, and I'm worried I'm making some really dumb choices before I even start.

Any and all input is welcome, including shooting down this idea. I'm not even 100% sure WSE2012R2 as my OS is the way to go over something like Ubuntu w/ Samba, or NAS OSes like UnRAID or FreeNAS.

Uses:

• streaming Blu-ray movies to my HTPCs
  • daily backups for my client PCs
  • file sharing w/ redundancy
  • backup to CrashPlan's cloud for additional data security
  • encryption of certain storage locations (if not all, but that probably would hinder video streaming performance)
  • I work with large video files for editing

Build:

The SSD would be the system drive, and the WD Reds would be 12GB to start with and I could expand there. I guess I would need some sort of PCIE SAS or SATA controller card to go beyond 8 drives? I also have read that StableBit DrivePool is recommended and am wondering if that's the case and if there are any special considerations regarding this and RAID cards and retaining SMART functionality.