RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
Stelly

Remote Web Access Search facility issue

Stelly

I'm new to WHS 11, just set it up a few days ago, so perhaps I'm missing something, but any comment or advice would be welcomed.

So far everything is working fine, but the Remote Web Access Search Files facility raises a question.

The issue I am having is that a search appears to scan the whole server, when I only want it to search the currently selected folder (and sub-folders).

I have created several separate folders (e.g. d:\Aduio Books, d:\Music, d:\Videos etc.), but if I sign in via Remote Web Access, select the Music folder and do a search it also returns results from the Audio Books, Videos and other folders, which doesn't seem very user friendly (and is different to running a Windows Explorer search in Windows 7/Windows XP etc.).

So, I guess the question is, what can I do to ensure that users who sign in to RWA can search within a specific set of folders?

Thanks for any feedback

Stelly

Edited by Stelly

ikon

I'm interested to hear the answer to this as well.

jmwills

You should be able to filter those results in a column format.

Edit: If you tap the name of the column, that will at least sort the results alphabetically.

Stelly

Thanks for the feedback chaps.

I can see what you mean about sorting by column, but with 2Tb of music and a similar amount of audiobooks, eBooks and documents etc. the list could still be rather confusing, especially for other members of the family who aren't really computer literate.

I'm surprised that the facility doesn't allow a user to search within category, although perhaps I could partition the disks so that books are on the e:\ drive and music on the d:\ drive (but there's still no guarantee that this will work).

I guess I'll have to submit a support request to Microsoft and hope for an explanation.

I haven't been able to find any literature that covers this, but there must be some somewhere.