RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Just Checking

Link Aggregation/Trunking - Managed Switch Choice

Just Checking

I am working on my home network and using it as a learning tool.  I am not a network engineer and have no formal training in this field, just what I learn by reading and asking a lot of questions on forums like this one.

I am building a new server which will have multipe gigabit ethernet ports (up to 5 ports).  Currently I route all network traffic through a gigabit unmanaged Zytel 24-port switch which works fine except that my network bandwidth is limited to 1 gigabit in each direction.  A second section of my network is not directly accessible to my primary switch because I didn't leave enough length of the Cat 6 cables when I was putting in the runs so I have a second unmanaged Zytel gigabit switch for that.   I currently run ethernet between the two switches  but that is limited to 1 gigabit also. 

From reading in forums and white papers, it is clear that I have to purchase managed switches to be able to do Link Aggregation and increase my  bandwidth between my server and the two switches.   I talked to a couple of network guys have been looking around at used switches.  I am soliciting opinions on which switches would be the best for me to purchase given that I am a relative neophyte when it comes to network configuration.   I have not used Hypertext in decades.

Here are some that I have been considering:

1. Cisco Catalyst 2970g - 24 port managed gigabit switch

2. Netgear Prosafe GS748T - 48 port managed gigabit switch

3. Dell Powerconnect 5524 (or something similar) - 24 port managed gigabit switch

The Cisco and Netgear models do support LInk Aggregation and are gigabit switches.  Cisco supports aggregation of up to 8 ports while Netgear supports aggregation of up to 5 ports.  I am having trouble determining which Dell models support Link Aggregation.  When they do, Dell models support up to 5 ports being aggregated.