RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Lydiath

HP Gen8 graphics card for HTPC?

Lydiath

Hey guys,

I'm new to microservers and to this forum. I'm mostly new to building as well- first & last time I built a PC was 4 years ago and it's been set & forget Windows since.

Anyway I purchased a HP gen8+switch and have been reading up as much as possible on what I can do with it. I bought it to store files and use SABNZB+sickbeard+utorrent+plex+CouchPotato. I have a 1 seagate 4tb + 1 old sata II SSD for now. And I'm waiting on a molex spliter and molex-to-sata adapter for the SSD. I'll soon buy a single stick of 8gb Kingston ECC RAM to pair with the stock-supplied 2gb.

I'm planning either FreeNAS or WHS11 - haven't decided which one yet. I know nothing about ESXI but am doing some reading up on it and trying to wrap my head around its benefits.

My question - I want to turn this into a dual HTPC, but what graphics card should I get? I want to connect it to a Panasonic Viera 50". I have a lot of 1080p blu-ray rips I'm hoping are playable. There is nothing, NOTHING I hate more than stutter. I'll happily pay whatever I need to pay to avoid that.

Yeah I know these aren't as good as the gen7 for HTPC cause there is only 1xPCIE slot but that's fine because I don't want a TV tuner.

I noticed the low profile Radeon HD 6450 is the most recommended for n50Ls. Does this apply to the gen8? Could I get any other low-profile card better for performance? I noticed the HD 6570 seems to be another highly recommended low profile card for HTPCs but I don't know if it'll be overkill or bottlenecked.

Or will it send the power useage up even in idle mode?

And the PSU is 150w - I'm fearful it might not be strong enough to support a GPU that can play 1080p. - As much as I want to avoid stutter, I also don't want to fry the board as well, lol.

Also the slot IS PCI-e, right? Not PCI?

Thanks kindly for the help.

Edited by Lydiath

psikey