RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

WHS2011 installation on SDD in Gen8 - problem

Angelos

Hi,

I'm a newbie, so have mercy...

Got a brand new Microserver Gen8 1610 and try to install WHS2011 on Samsung SSD 120GB Drive. Don't need Smart Array B120i Controller, I'm going to use Drive pool and probably flexraid. This is for Home use only - data storage.

I've plugged SSD to blue SATA ODD controler on the mainboard, turned off in BIOS Smart Array B120i Controller, and changed the SATA Controller to legacy mode to change the boot priority for SSD drive (the same as Savage-74 did in http://homeservershow.com/forums/index.php?/topic/6728-gen-8-boot-off-ssd). SSD is the only drive, 2x WD Red drive will be added later. DVD drive with the WHS2011 installation disc connected to USB.

Than installed the WHS2011 using the USB cfg trick. Now the problem - after the first restart, the system couldn't load (start) again to finish the installation. It shows blue screen for a moment, and the Microserver restarts. When choose starting WHS2011 in Safe Mode with Command Prompt - the system loads a lot of drivers, and stops when loading "disk.sys". Than restarts the system.

I've done that two times with the same effect. Looking for help.

Update:

Switched ssd drive for 4TB. Results are the same, first reboot ends with blue screen. Paused on the blue screen, and it seems to be related to "lsi_sas2.sys".

In another post, user t1tan7 (http://homeservershow.com/forums/index.php?/topic/5980-has-anyone-loaded-run-whs-2011-on-a-gen8/?p=67490) mentioned he had to install B120i drivers during the WHS2011 installation process. In my case, WHS2011 didn't asked for any drivers or even let me install drivers, just installed the system.

Remember also, that running the B120i in AHCI mode will result in a noisy fan - just create a single-drive RAID0 array, it will be treated the same.

You'll need the B120i drivers for it though.

• 1 month later...