RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Recommendations for a new Media Server

Wade

I was hoping to get some recommendations on motherboards for a WHS build.

I'm looking for a ATX board, with onboard video and sound. In addition I want to have as many sata connections as possible and ideally a quite board.... meaning not one with noisy fans on it, preferable one only with heat sinks.

Moving forward from three I'll likely get a roomy case and stack it with hard drives.

My end goal is to load it with a couple HDPRV tuners, and potentially automate alot of my day to day stuff. I'm still new with the WHS thing, but I'm hoping to use it to it's full potential with my work and entertainment systems.

Oh and another item, when it comes to cases, my current office case is a Haf 932, it's a monster and I love it. All the room and racks for hard drives is awesome. I'm thinking of sticking with Cooler Master as I like their designs, but are there any others which offer alot of hard drive storage at a cheaper price tag?

Thanks guys, and I'll try to document the build when I get started.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• wodysweb

• pcdoc

• Grison

• Wade

Top Posters In This Topic

wv1973,
THere are a few post already on the subject so take a look at these and I think it will be clear as to my recommendations and feel free to ask specific questions to refine your choices. I also like large cases which you will see if you go my web site (see signature). In terms of what you are wanting to do, I would suggest you reconsider your approach. WHS is fine for your basic tasks, file storage, backup, media storage and streaming, but I would recomend against adding things like tuners in your WHS and move those to a HTPC which would be attached to your TV/Receiver. Let WHS do what it does best and that is storage and backup. You will save yourself much grief in the long run.

http://homeservershow.com/core-i3530-htpc.html