Jump to content
RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Backup Restore


Dimitri
 Share

Recommended Posts

Guys, thanks for the discussion in this topic.

 

I was not aware of this behaviour either until I read this thread. 

 

I have previously successfully restored from older backups and I do cycle two 2TB disks through the backup process every couple of weeks.

 

I have just tested on my setup and can confirm it is behaving as Drashna says, ie re-configure the server backup, and it will delete the old backups on the disk and create a new backup, so that you end up up with the oldest backup on that disk drive being the first one created after the re-configuration. In my case, all I had left was a backup from November 12.

 

Another behaviour, I have now tested is when the backup disk fills up, it re-orgs the backups by deleting and recreating a new full backup, so again, you lose any older server backups on that disk.

 

Needless to say when I setup my backup originally and tested some recovery scenarios, I didnt pick up either of these two situations.

 

So back to the drawing board for my server backup scenarios.

 

PS I do have a second string to my bow, as I do not like to rely on a single technology for backups. I also use Acronis to backup my server disks, but not on a daily basis.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As I said, it would be best to run two disks. But if you change config, you need both attached. But it may be worth it, just to make sure that doesn't happen.

 

Though, I don't use Acronis and never will. It has a long track record of horrible VSS writers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And this still happens when you do it through the "Windows Server Backup" console, but it seems to be a lot less likely. Also, this is a good reason to have multiple backup drives, and to cycle them out once a week or so. It will prevent stupid stuff like this.

 

Interesting info. I wasn't aware. And I think "The Server OS resets the Backups when you add new folders which is a normal thing to do" is one of the most absurd statements I've heard in a long time. Why on earth should altering what's included in a backup cause it to ignore or wipe out all previous backups. IMHO, it's ridiculous.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Interesting info. I wasn't aware. And I think "The Server OS resets the Backups when you add new folders which is a normal thing to do" is one of the most absurd statements I've heard in a long time. Why on earth should altering what's included in a backup cause it to ignore or wipe out all previous backups. IMHO, it's ridiculous.

I agree. So is requiring you to run "wbadmin delete catalog" (and forcing you to wipe out your backup schedule, and unlinking the computer basically (as in it thinks it's a different system/backup set)) to fix half of the Windows Server services not starting right when you move disks around..... ANd then closing the ticket, because I don't have time to test something that I have THOROUGHLY REPRODUCED ON MY PRODUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT MACHINE.  There is a chance I may be bitter here.....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share


×
×
  • Create New...