RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Questions concerning my first ever server purchase (N54)

hspolander

Hello, and thanks for taking time to read this.

I recently decided that the time has finally come for me to purchase a server. I have been looking at alot of different ones, but due to a recent sale where the N54 is going for 1400 SEK(roughly 160 €) I got the feeling that this is the one for me.

Listened to the n54 dedicated episode of HSS and did a lot of research. Since I am very new to servers I plan on installing a userfriendly OS, and probably just purchase one 8 gb memory stick. Before I make my purchase I would like to ask some questions regarding how much this server is cabable of. Apologies if my questions are dumb, but as I said I am quite new to this world.

I am a Java developer and I plan to run some very lightweight applications on the server. I intend to use JBoss Applicationserver or perhaps Glassfish. both of these are supposed to be very light and I even heard of people installing them in on a Raspberry pi. Has anyone of you tried running an applicationserver on the N54? Do you think it will work?

I might run a Teamspeak server on it for some friends I sometimes play games with. Has anyone tried it?

I also plan to use it to stream music to my logitech squeezebox. Is this possible? Is anyone doing it?

I plan to add 2x3TB WD red drives, 1x8 KINGSTON 8GB 1333MHZ DDR3 ECC CL9 DIMM W/TS(KVR1333D3E9S/8G). I think I read every memorythread there is to find, but this one gave me the most info Google spreadsheet. If there is anything not compatable abotu this setup, feel free to shout at me

Like I said I plan on using windows. This is only because I have gotten the impression that this is the easiest to start off with. If you have any recommendations to what I could use instead(and why) or any source of information that would make it easier for me to make up my mind about this, be kind to let me know.