RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Rex53

DrivePop Results?

Rex53

Its been a couple of months since some of you jumped on the DrivePop deal.  How's it going now?  What's your experience using it day-to-day.

I'm thinking about pulling the trigger on this, but wanted to hear some real world experience first.

Thanks,

Dan

schoondoggy

So far it is working fine for me.

I have 3TB backed up there.

I have not done too much other testing.

Jason

Am using it. Though I haven't yet completed a full backup yet. Not certain whether I'll discontinue CrashPlan now that I have a lifetime Drivepop subscription. Some observations:

- there doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason to the order it backs up files

- if you have a PC named PC1 and begin a backup, if you need to rebuild that machine at any point, you're backup will start over. You'll them have 2 backup sets on the Livedrive.com server with same machine name. You then need to rename one to DELETEME and open a support ticket to have it removed. Unlike CrashPlan where a new install and adopt/continue and existing backup on their server.

- if real time backup option is enabled, it often locks files like Outlook local PSTs requiring you to close the Livedrive client and re-open Outlook to use your existing PST.

jsox

The PST file issue is noted in their FAQ. www.drivepop.com/faq

I've had it running on an XP test machine for about 6 months now and have ~650 GB uploaded.

For me it seems slow compared to CrashPlan, I never get more than about 250 - 300 KBps for data transfers (as reported by the detailed status monitoring screen).

Livedrive only runs when you are logged in on the PC. As their FAQ puts it "Livedrive is not a service but an application therefore you to be logged in during transfer or scanning of files."