RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Is WS2012Er2 the next WHS?

Pete

Good day all. Big fan of the podcast, YouTube channel and forums.

Question: is Window Server 2012 Essentials R2 the next step in WHS evolution?

I have a HP Mediasmart server 485 that I bought back in 2009 and it is working fine (3x 1.5TB data drives), 1 data drive died, replaced it, no problems. System drive crashed some time ago, replaced it, reloaded with the version 3 update and ever since I've not had any problems in past 2 years.

I bought WHS2011 from newegg a wile back when it was on sale ($30 bucks I think), but haven't installed it on bare metal HW yet. I have a MS Technet subscription and have downloaded a ton of software, as I'm sure a lot of you all have. My main computer has Asus P8P67 WS with 2600K CPU, 16 GB RAM, 1.5TB data drive, and 500GB system HDD. I used to have 2x 64GB SSD in raid0 for system and that rocked for boot up times, but it crashed so I went with old fashioned mechanical boot HDD.

Anyways. My computer is set for dual boot, Win7 Ultimate and Windows Server 2008r2 Enterprise. On my server I loaded Hyper-V and played with VMs. I've created some Win7 enterprise clients, WHS2011, and WS2012Er2. I really haven't dabbled with Essentials all that much so that's why I'm here in the forums.

My HP485 is working fine, but I want to upgrade to current times, ya know? So I'm looking at hardware and and choosing which OS to use. I've looked at the discussion on the HP N54L with WHS2011, and your current discussions on 2012 Essentials R2.

I have 3 desktops and 4 laptops. Even though the HP485 has shared folders and such, I'm the only one who uses it. That means that all other computers have music, pictures and what not on them, and even though they are all backed up and easily recovered, I want to centrally locate all our data.