RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Can I use Hyper V in Win 8 to Virtualize Win 7 Media Center?

vinylfreak

OK , this is a total Noob question on virtualization. 

Because many of my Media Center Plugins are wonky in Windows 8 , I was wondering if I would be able to run Windows 7 Media Center

in the Windows 8 Hyper V built in feature.

Has anyone done this? Within hyper V will 7 MC recognize TV tuners cards and network tuners.

Will I be able to go Full Screen with Media Center? From the times I did mildly play with Hyper V, I seem to remember not being able to go full screen.

I really do not want to build another dedicated box , just to run 7MC.

I am currently running Win 8 Pro with 16GB of Ram. I think that should be plenty to run one Hyper V instance of 7MC.

Is there a better way to do this??

I am open to any and all feedback.

Thanks!!

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Drashna Jaelre

• vinylfreak

• ikon

• tojoski

Ohhh, dude, I think the tuner cards could be a problem. Basically, you need a virtual driver to talk to devices. I'm skeptical about whether there are any for tuner cards. You might have better luck with network tuners though, since virtual NIC drivers are part of HyperV.

Full screen? Hmmm, might be an issue too.

It's an ambitious project for sure. I hope I'm wrong about the tuner cards and full screen, but I'm worried I'm not. I hope someone jumps in and straightens me out.

I intend on trying this exact project on a machine running 8.1 Preview tonight.

I have a HD Homerun dual network tuner I'll be installing, so I'll report back and let you know how it goes.

Which of your Mediacenter plugins are wonky?

I intend on trying this exact project on a machine running 8.1 Preview tonight.

I have a HD Homerun dual network tuner I'll be installing, so I'll report back and let you know how it goes.

Which of your Mediacenter plugins are wonky?

Look forward to your results!