RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
danner

How to restore a mirrored disc

danner

Hi all!

I am new to WHS, and I am making a backup plan.

My simple question is:

If I use the OS mirror built in function. Is it just to replace a disc in case of a disc failure? Will the OS handle this?

Cheers Daniel

jmwills

Yes, the OS (or any mirror) will rebuild itself if one of the two drives in the mirror fails.  Just remove the failed drive and replace it with another or similar size and speed.

danner

Thanks.

Will it be possible to put one of the discs in another computer (os usb drive) and read the content? In case of server or os failure I need to have short time to access to the server data.

I had a backup software that performed a mirror (NTFS) during the night. But that software fails somtimes and seems not reliable, thats why I am looking at the OS mirror function. But actually I want two "readably" discs. Does not RAID use a special file system?

And, if the server os fails and I need to replace the WHS installation or  hardware, can a new WHS installation and hardware recover the mirrored discs.?

jmwills

Yes, you should be able to attach one of those mirrored drive via a docking station and read the contents as long as we are talking Windows to Windows.

Something you need to realize, is as it stands now, you have no backup of your data.  RAID is not a backup but a form of redundancy.  In case of a total failure, you could rebuild the server and transfer the backup to the newly created RAID Array.  RAID uses the file system of the OS but you will not be able to transfer the array if the array is built within the OS and not an add on card.

Joe_Miner

Hi all!

I am new to WHS, and I am making a backup plan.

My simple question is:

If I use the OS mirror built in function. Is it just to replace a disc in case of a disc failure? Will the OS handle this?

Cheers Daniel