RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Recommendations for the right type of box to put this on

Rod at home

This morning when I got up to log into my 4-year old HP Pavilion Elite desktop, I heard a disturbing sound. I'm sure it's the hard drive making a grinding sound. Now, I've seen HD's like this last for months, so I might be lucky, but I've also seen them come down ASAP. Man, this sort of thing never comes at a convenient place.

I've been a professional programmer for many years, and have owned desktop PC's for 20+ years. Prices on desktop PCs have come down significantly, so I might just replace this thing with another. But I'm also considering just replacing it with a home server box of some sort. It was when I first started listening to this Home Server Show podcast that I become aware of the concept of a server in the home. At work such systems normally start at $5000, which is way beyond reasonable for an individual, but a home server, which is scaled down for a home, or possibly a small business, is much more like what I'd want. Plus I've got a relatively new laptop (a Sony Vaio which I purchased in December of last year) that has my development environment on it. One way or another I'd need that development environment installed, either on a new desktop or a home server.