RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
bluedust

New Proliant Microserver Gen8

bluedust

This is my first post, so I thought I would say hi and introduce myself. I work in the computer industry which means I run a team of guys who build websites; I should really call myself a java developer, but I have not been able to code much lately. I am interested in all things technology and I like to keep my self sharp by dabbling into all things tech, so I decided on investing in a proper server for the home. In the past I have made attempts to run servers at home, but they were either too loud or not fit for purpose. I have bought a Proliant Microserver Gen8 and this is what I hope to do with it:

• host basic lamp server available online for my own personal use
  • run database servers for development purposes (mysql and mongo db) 
  • run webservers and application servers
  • play around with stuff :)

I only have the standard ram and CPUthat came with it; however I bought 2x 2TB WD reds to run in raid 1. I plan to upgrade CPU and RAM later when it is clearer what my hardware requirements are, but this is my plan:

Install VMWare ESXi Hypervisor on a micro sd card and install VMs for the uses I have listed above; I want to do this to give me freedom of not being tied to the hardware. Hopefully this means I can upgrade my processor worrying if that will cause problems with the host OS. I know 2gigs of RAM is tiny for a virtualisation, but for now I only need one or two VMs, and only one will needs to be running 24/7. In the future I may need more VMs, but that is when I can decide on a beefy CPU and max out the RAM. I am hoping to learn more about the device and my requirements before I spend any more money. 

Assuming what I am planning makes sense I have a few questions:

1. What size micro sd card should I buy for the Hypervisor?
  2. Will I have problems upgrading memory and CPU in the future?
  3. Have I missed anything?
Edited by bluedust
  • Like 1

Joe_Miner