RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
bigladuk

Help moving from N36L to Gen8

bigladuk

Can someone more experienced that me please help before I loose all my data.

I've been running a N36L for several years running headless Ubuntu Server and 4 disks setup as JBOD so the Raid was turned off in the BIOS

I've now got my new Gen 8 ( Super Excited ) and have moved the memory and disks from my old to new server and turned it on.

My problem ( Which I didn't consider ) is that I can't get anywhere without configuring an Array via the RAID controller which I assume will wipe my disks.....is there a way to disable the RAID controller and just have the 4 disks presented as 4 disks ? Or can I create an array and logical disks without wiping my disks ?

My OS is installed on disk 1 

Appreciate any help

Thanks

Si

schoondoggy

Do you have a backup copy of your data? There is a possibility that Ubuntu will not like the change in chipsets.

I am not near my Gen 8 so I am doing this from memory.

During boot up you will have the option to enter Setup by pushing F9.

Select the first item in the menu, when that expands the storage controller option should be the last item on that list.

Your choices are;

B120i RAID controller

Legacy SATA

AHCI SATA

Choose one of the SATA choices and save and reboot. The B120i should be off.

You mentioned moving the memory from the N36L to the Gen8. Are the modules fast enough for the Gen 8?

bigladuk

Thanks for that.. Turned it off now :-) For reference to anyone doing the same the option I picked was AHCI SATA

The Gen 8 is certified for Ubuntu and I'm running 13.04 so was thinking things should be OK.

So far so good anyway

The memory I had in my N36l was KTH-PL313E/4G ( a pair so 8GB total ) and it seems to be working fine

My OS is all up and working now including iLo and everything so looks OK.

I guess time will tell

Thanks again

Si

FiLiNuX