Jump to content
RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

GEN8 : Memory (NON)-ECC


Recommended Posts

Yes. There is no disadvantage to having non-HP memory in the gen 8 microserver apart from the IMS record and the AlertMail emails.

 

The Intel Flex Memory feature lets it do dual channel with mismatched size DIMMs up to the size of the smallest DIMM. The remainder of the larger DIMM is accessed in single channel mode. You're unlikely to actually notice the difference with and without dual channel memory though unless you're running a benchmarking program that is testing memory bandwidth.

 

Hi and sorry if i am getting boring asking you again and again but i am new on Servers.  :-(

 

So with Preinstalled HP Smart 2GB (1600MHz) and one 8GB HP Smart i will run my system at 10 GB 1600 MHz (the first 4GB running as Dual Channel and the rest as single channel) ? Is that correct ?

 

If i buy a KIngston 8GB 1600 MHz i will run my system again at 10 GB 1600 MHz (the first 4GB running as Dual Channel and the rest as single channel) ? Is that correct ? Should i miss any functions in comparison with HP one (same hardware) ?

 

What you mean IMS ? As you told only notifications on iLO and on POST regarding not HP Smart Memory And the fact the Alert will has issues.

 

Since i have find on same price 8GB both HP and Kingston what is the most valuable choise taking in account that for now i will combine the new 8GB slot with the preinstalled DIMM of 2 GB to make summary of 10GB?

 

WIll HP Memory perform better than Kingston ?

 

What you mean to  make sure all of the various timings are exactly the same? You mean MHz? or other Hardware values?

 

Thanks for helping me!  :-)

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 116
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

  • schoondoggy

    23

  • Dvampoul

    16

  • ikon

    7

  • codedmind

    7

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Quick update on this one:   Samsung Model M391B1G73QH0-YK0 (1.35V) fully functional.   Also, lots of 2 and 8GB ECC unbuffered 1866MHz DIMMS proved to work. Should it be of intereset, I'll dig the li

It appears that should work, as it is unbuffered and ECC The MS Gen8 does not require HP branded memory.

MS Gen8 only supports 8GB UDIMMS

Posted Images

Dvampoul

Hello Guys,

 

Does any of you have one of the following set's working on His Gen8 Microserver T1610 ?

 

1)RAM KINGSTON KVR16N11K2/16 16GB (2X8GB) DDR3 1600MHZ PC3-12800 VALUE RAM DUAL CHANNEL KIT 2)Kingston 16GB DDR3-1333MHz (KVR13N9K2/16) 3)Kingston ValueRAM 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16LN11K2/16) 4)Kingston 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16R11D4/16) 5)Kingston ValueRAM 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16R11D4/16KF) 6)Kingston ValueRAM 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16R11D4/16HB)

Thanks.

 

BR

Link to post
Share on other sites
schoondoggy

Hello Guys,

 

Does any of you have one of the following set's working on His Gen8 Microserver T1610 ?

 

1)RAM KINGSTON KVR16N11K2/16 16GB (2X8GB) DDR3 1600MHZ PC3-12800 VALUE RAM DUAL CHANNEL KIT 2)Kingston 16GB DDR3-1333MHz (KVR13N9K2/16) 3)Kingston ValueRAM 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16LN11K2/16) 4)Kingston 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16R11D4/16) 5)Kingston ValueRAM 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16R11D4/16KF) 6)Kingston ValueRAM 16GB DDR3-1600MHz (KVR16R11D4/16HB)

Thanks.

 

BR

I have not tried any of these, but:

1. will not work non ECC

2. will not work non ECC

3. will not work non ECC

4. will not work Registered

5. will not work Registered

6. will not work Registered

Link to post
Share on other sites
Dvampoul

Damn it!!! Thats why is so cheap! I tired searching... I will bye an 8GB HP end of story it costs 99€ here in Greece

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Link to post
Share on other sites
Dvampoul

I have not tried any of these, but:

1. will not work non ECC

2. will not work non ECC

3. will not work non ECC

4. will not work Registered

5. will not work Registered

6. will not work Registered

 

 

Hi Schoondoggy,

 

Since now i have only 1 preinstalled DIMM 2GB (MT9JSF25672AZ-1G6K1ZE // PN: 669237-071) I Checked my iLO and Memory seems 1600MHz but it is working on 1333MHz.

 

Advanced Memory Protection (AMP)

AMP Status AMP Mode Status Advanced ECC Configured AMP Mode Advanced ECC Supported AMP Modes Advanced ECC

 

Memory Summary Location Number of Sockets Total Memory Operating Frequency Operating Voltage Processor 1  2  2 GB  1333 MHz  1.5 V 

 

Memory Details ( show empty sockets )  Memory Location Socket Status HP SmartMemory Part Number Type Size Maximum Frequency Minimum Voltage Ranks Technology Processor 1  1  icon_status_08_normal.gif Good, In Use icon-checkmark.png Yes 669237-071   DIMM DDR3 2048 MB  1600 MHz  1.5 V  1  UDIMM 

 

 

So i suppose that is CPU related how many MHz uses from DIMM (RAM). Is that correct ? So since i made a mistake and i would buy an 8GB HP but NON-ECC (that probably would not work @ 99,0€) i am between the above set's.

 

What do you think of?

 

1)Crucial 8GB Single DDR3 1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) CL11 Unbuffered ECC UDIMM 240-Pin Server Memory CT102472BA160B (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006YG8ZNI/ref=oh_details_o06_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) -> But i have not buy any products from Amazon (Live in Greece) will they send it to me? With what cost? Product costs almost 72$.

 

  2)Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600MHZ ECC REG
 Kingston Technology 

Κωδικός είδους : 3429841 

P/N : KTH-PL316E/8G 

REG Means Regisered so it will not work ? That memory costs at Greece : 98€ (1xDIMM = 8 GB)
3)Kingston ValueRAM DDR3 16 GB : 2 x 8 GB DIMM 240

Κωδικός Προϊόντος: 117837

 EAN Code: 0740617197488
 Part Number: KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G

 

- See more at: http://www.ebw.gr/el/product/117837/Kingston-ValueRAM-DDR3-16-GB-2-x-8-GB-DIMM-240#sthash.RSQoryIv.dpuf

 

http://img.ebw.gr/117837/EASYBUYWORLD_WWW_EBW_GR_Kingston-ValueRAM-KVR1333D3E9SK2-16G-16GB-1333MHz-DDR3-ECC-0740617197488.pdf

 

http://www.ebw.gr/el/product/117837/Kingston-ValueRAM-DDR3-16-GB-2-x-8-GB-DIMM-240

 

That Memory costs 157€ But is 2x8GB Totally 16GB?

 

Do they work ?

 

I am confused again  :-(  Please help 

Link to post
Share on other sites
schoondoggy

Hi Schoondoggy,

 

Since now i have only 1 preinstalled DIMM 2GB (MT9JSF25672AZ-1G6K1ZE // PN: 669237-071) I Checked my iLO and Memory seems 1600MHz but it is working on 1333MHz.

 

Advanced Memory Protection (AMP)

AMP Status AMP Mode Status Advanced ECC Configured AMP Mode Advanced ECC Supported AMP Modes Advanced ECC

 

Memory Summary Location Number of Sockets Total Memory Operating Frequency Operating Voltage Processor 1  2  2 GB  1333 MHz  1.5 V 

 

Memory Details ( show empty sockets )  Memory Location Socket Status HP SmartMemory Part Number Type Size Maximum Frequency Minimum Voltage Ranks Technology Processor 1  1  icon_status_08_normal.gif Good, In Use icon-checkmark.png Yes 669237-071   DIMM DDR3 2048 MB  1600 MHz  1.5 V  1  UDIMM 

 

 

So i suppose that is CPU related how many MHz uses from DIMM (RAM). Is that correct ? So since i made a mistake and i would buy an 8GB HP but NON-ECC (that probably would not work @ 99,0€) i am between the above set's.

 

What do you think of?

 

1)Crucial 8GB Single DDR3 1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) CL11 Unbuffered ECC UDIMM 240-Pin Server Memory CT102472BA160B (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006YG8ZNI/ref=oh_details_o06_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) -> But i have not buy any products from Amazon (Live in Greece) will they send it to me? With what cost? Product costs almost 72$.

 

  2)Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600MHZ ECC REG
 Kingston Technology 

Κωδικός είδους : 3429841 

P/N : KTH-PL316E/8G 

REG Means Regisered so it will not work ? That memory costs at Greece : 98€ (1xDIMM = 8 GB)
3)Kingston ValueRAM DDR3 16 GB : 2 x 8 GB DIMM 240

Κωδικός Προϊόντος: 117837

 EAN Code: 0740617197488
 Part Number: KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G

 

- See more at: http://www.ebw.gr/el/product/117837/Kingston-ValueRAM-DDR3-16-GB-2-x-8-GB-DIMM-240#sthash.RSQoryIv.dpuf

 

http://img.ebw.gr/117837/EASYBUYWORLD_WWW_EBW_GR_Kingston-ValueRAM-KVR1333D3E9SK2-16G-16GB-1333MHz-DDR3-ECC-0740617197488.pdf

 

http://www.ebw.gr/el/product/117837/Kingston-ValueRAM-DDR3-16-GB-2-x-8-GB-DIMM-240

 

That Memory costs 157€ But is 2x8GB Totally 16GB?

 

Do they work ?

 

I am confused again  :-(  Please help 

I try to buy the fastest memory that a system will take. For a MS Gen8 I would buy DDR3-1600.

1. That memory should work 

2. Reg means registered, means it wont work

3. Looks like it would work, but it is DDR3-1333

Link to post
Share on other sites
Dvampoul

I probably bye the 3rd solution since seems value for money.

 

I dont think 1333 with 1666 mhz would have very big speed differencies that a human can understand easy!

 

Thanks you 4 yr time!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Link to post
Share on other sites
schoondoggy

I probably bye the 3rd solution since seems value for money.

 

I dont think 1333 with 1666 mhz would have very big speed differencies that a human can understand easy!

 

Thanks you 4 yr time!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have good luck with Hynix memory try a web or ebay search for these:

HYNIX HMT41GU7AFR8A-PB

Link to post
Share on other sites
Dvampoul

I cannot find this product cheaper than 140€ including shipping costs

 

I probably buy the 1333mhz on 156€ from Greece Market!

 

But first i give another search!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Link to post
Share on other sites
Dvampoul

I try to buy the fastest memory that a system will take. For a MS Gen8 I would buy DDR3-1600.

1. That memory should work 

2. Reg means registered, means it wont work

3. Looks like it would work, but it is DDR3-1333

 

Schoondoggy finally i reach to buy a DIMM of 8GB and make a total of 10GB with HP Preinstalled DIMM.

 

The CPU i have (T1610) handles memmory on 1333Mhz Maximum as i can see, but on a future upgrade of CPU i will be ready to run on 1600Mhz

 

I found that Kingston 8GB DDR KTH-PL316E/8G is working is that correct. I see that is unbuffered. May i ask you sthg? The preinstalled RAM is UDIMM or DIMM? the U stands for Unbuffered? So if i buy it i will make the 1st 4GB to run as Dual Channel? Correct ?

 

Thanks.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...