RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New guy says hello

ecthomason

Hello. I'm new here and just wanted to say hi. I stumbled upon your show on Youtube a few days ago and have watched several episodes since then. I really enjoy it but don't understand half of it as I am new to home servers. i'll catch up eventually though.

I recently acquired an Acer v5 laptop for the sole purpose of learning to use a home server. It may be an odd choice for that purpose, but it suits my needs (i5 cpu, 6GB RAM, low power, low heat, low noise, headless when closed). I installed Linux Mint 15 on it as well as a LAMP server, Plex, SabNZBD, Sickbeard, and Tiny Tiny RSS. I'm having a lot of fun but have found Linux to be more limited than I had hoped in terms of software, a Winamp Shoutcast server for instance or iTunes for podcasts that I could play/mark as read from my Win7 desktop. Maybe WHS can do that, but I can't afford to explore that option at this time. I need a backup solution first.

I thought a NAS would be that solution, but after watching HSS and reading forums I'm not certain anymore. Several people have said RAIDs aren't backups, but aren't NAS built on RAIDs? Maybe I'm confused. Do I need a NAS to backup my NAS?

I do apologize if I ask too many questions. I'm a naturally inquisitive person.

Thanks

Welcome.  RAID is definitely not a "backup" solution.  RAID is for high availability and redundancy.  So we now have your RAID established and suppose your home burns down (God forbid) but your data is now gone.

What you need to do is copy/duplicate the most critical data to an offsite location.  That could be a cloud solution such as Crashplan or one of the many alternatives or move the data physically by manually copying the data to removable drives.

You will see the term 3-2-1 when referring to backups.  You need three copies of your data, 2 of which are on different type of media (DVD's, portable HDD's, etc) and 1 copy offsite (Cloud Storage or Physical Copies)