RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

N54L Hardware Considerations

mythumbsclick

Hi all

I have been watching and reading this forum for a while and just purchased a N54L now that they are going cheap.

I have some hardware related questions Im wondering if anyone would mind answering for me. Here is my proposed list of bits to buy:

1. HP Raid Controller - P410
2. 4 x 3tb WD Reds
3. XFX HD-645X-ZQH2 Radeon HD 6450
4. 8GB or 16GB RAM
5. ToughArmor MB994IPO-3SB 2x2.5” SAS/SATA HDD + 1x Slim ODD Rack
7. PicoPSU mod
8. SSD x2 128GB
9. x2 DVB T2 USB 'dongles' - (havnt decided which ones yet)

Whats it going to be used for?
I work in IT so need something to host ESXi to play around with but in reality my main VM's will be a synology DSM VM to take care of shared storage, a linux VM for TV server backend (TV Headend) and a Mac and or Windows VM for testing and general messing around with. My media computer is a mac mini so no need to play movies etc but want to stick a graphics card in anyway.

Couple of question I have are:

1. I have been keeping an eye on ebay and seen HP P410 RAID cards going for around £150 2nd hand. Is this correct and is this where other people are getting them from? I dont want to spend that sort of money but realise I will have to if I want ESXi
2. Do i need to get battery packs/additional RAM for the card?
2. Will I be able to change the bracket on the P410 to one that can accomodate the PicoPSU power supply mod? I cant find many pictures but it seems that you need to have the power come out of one of the PCIe brackets? - How are other people handling this?
3. RAID Configuration - I Plan on sticking the 4x 3TB's into a RAID5 and using this as the share storage for DSM. When I setup DSM I will point this to the RAID 5 and choose RAID 0. I will then use the SSDs in a RAID 1 to run the VM's off

Do you think everything mentioned is do-able?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Tom