RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Virtualization for WHS 2011

Lord_ranger

So recently i built myself a WHS 2011 box with flexraid running on it. Loved the thing worked great....but oh last week i went to swap out a drive for a bigger one and i messed it WAYY up and now the OS wont boot.. Ive dont everything i cant think of so i thought why not rebuild the box. Its a 6core amd 8gb ram with and SSD boot drive...so just running WHS on it is a big waste of power. So i thought why not run some virtualization. I like to tinker so it would give me something to tinker on without having the space of another computer take of my desk area.

But since WHS only supports 8gb i can't use that as the host OS. So i have to find something else. I was thinking i could use WSE 2012 as the host and Vmware of some sort for the virtualization. Or i could run a bare metal virtualization and do everything that way. But see i have no experience with type 1 virtualization so i would be venturing into the unknown. The whole thing needs to be stable because it hosts and backs some of my files and my computer, along with my customers data for my small computer repair business. I basically i cant afford to loose data. 

What do you guys think would be best? 

Your best bet would be to wait for Server 2012 R2 or Essentials R2 and use that as the host OS.  Which OS's do you have access to?

Hi Lord_Ranger!

Before doing anything – be sure you have a 3-2-1 backup solution in place – learning about VM’s on a box that also contains your critical data is sure to result in disaster at some point.

Here’s some ideas on running VM’s on top of WHS-2011:

VirtualBox addon for WHS2011?

Listen to the discussion of Home Server Show 180 and check out the show notes too and also Here.