RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Using RAID on Intel H67 Motherboard.

kylejwx

First of all, my technology budget for this project is $0.  I know that I could do much better with a RAID controller or an SSD or many other solutions, but these are not an option as of now.  Part of the fun for me is getting creative with what I have, which is a 2.5” Hitachi 320GB hard drive and a 3.5” WD 320GB.  I also realize that setting up RAID might not be necessary or ideal, but I have never done it before and I just want to do it for fun and experience.

I want to accomplish two things: install Windows 8 Pro and set up RAID.  Will the H67 motherboard based RAID allow me to use these two different drives?  I understand that identical drives are preferable.  I just need to know if it is possible.  If not, I might just mirror the drives in the OS.

By the way, what is the performance difference between just one drive, a RAID 1 mirror, RAID 5, and RAID 0?  For some reason I am assuming that I have listed these from slowest to fastest, but correct me if I am wrong. Or perhaps it is more that RAID 1 and 0 provide a similar performance increase, but 1 allows for resiliency and 0 provides more storage?

Current os drive speeds.cdriveATTO.JPG

RAID 0 is fastest, then RAID 5 then RAID 1. A single drive should be the same speed as RAID 1.

With two drives you could do RAID 0 or RAID 1. Chipset RAID is not very flexible, differences in the drives could cause issues.

If you are looking for speed, set up a RAID 0 and see if it works.

Well I was hoping to get resiliency and at least a little bit of speed increase with RAID 1. I guess testing it until it breaks might be the best option. :)