RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Hawk521

N54L convert RAID 1 to Drivepool (four 2TB WD Red drives)

Hawk521

I am new to WHS. Got my N54L an WHS 2011 two weeks ago.  Have been experimenting and learning.

Currently the C:(OS) and D: drives reside on a RAID 1 pair of 2TB WD Red drives yielding ~2TB.

Drive E: is another RAID 1 pair of 2TB WD Red drives, also yielding ~2TB.  

While this configuration works, I have found that the built-in RAID controller masks access to the S.M.A.R.T. data - meaning that programs designed to monitor SATA drive health cannot retrieve data from the drive S.M.A.R.T. diagnostics.

So - I'm planning to re-work the installation to be four individual (no RAID)  2TB drives controlled via Stablebit Drivepool.   WHS 2011 will reside on a 60GB partition of the first 2TB drive, leaving a tad less than 2TB of free space.   Unsure whether I should include the balance of this first drive as part of the Drivepool.  Might experiment with it some.  Initially I might leave it out of the Drivepool.

QUESTION:

My first objective is to remove RAID 1 from all drives.  Can I just go into the RAID setup (<ctrl-f>) screen and delete the RAID settings for all drives, and then remove the secondary RAID (#2 and #4 drives) from the machine and reboot?  Is that the cleanest way to eliminate all RAID from the machine?  Does this introduce any festering problems for these drives?  Next I plan to remount these 2 extra drives in the N54L and format each before adding them to the Drivepool.  Maybe there is more to this than I understand?  Just looking for the path of least resistance and trying not to lose the data currently on my C:, D:, and E: drives.

Any helpful advice will be appreciated.

jmwills

I would suggest getting a smallish SSD drive for the OS and leave the 4x2TB drives either in a RAID or a Drive Pooling mechanism such as Drive bender.  But get the OS, out of the pool.

Hawk521

...  But get the OS, out of the pool.

Thanks for the info.