RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Random Reboots

webapprentice

I have been using SageTV since 2004 and it was running on the same machine with no problems until I upgraded a month and a half ago. I upgraded to a new board with am2 process, 4 GB of dual channel ram, at 750 GB, 1.0tb 500 GB for storage and a 120 GB formatted at 64k to record TV shows and a Hauppauge 250 and a Hauppauge 2250. The power supply is a 450watt. The home server experience is awesome for all the things you all talk about in this forum expect it would randomly reboot.
I ran all the memory test I could run, ran spinrite for a week, ran a bunch of stress test with every live CD diagnostics I could. There were no errors but the machine just kept reboot. I verified all the drivers are updated and correct. The power supply did not seem to be the culprit since I have heard that the boot up is when most of the power is used and it did not flinch. It also did not boot for a week during spinrite test. The only thing I could find is that some Hauppauge cards do not work well with 4gb ram on 64bit systems. I kept reading forums and googling everything I could find on the subject and the one reoccurring them was the 4gbs. I removed the 2 GB of ram and now my system has been up for 27 hours without a reboot.
If anyone knows a better work around or has faced these issues I am interested on your thoughts on this matter.

I had rebooting problems as well. Turned out to be the ram. The faulty ram even passed memtest . So I systematically began switching out components and finally found the issue.