RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Toshiba Thrive - Android Downloads and Streaming

Just Checking

I have limited experience with Android OS and I need some help in being able to set up my wife's Toshiba Thrive for Streaming Videos and accessing our network.

Is there a tutorial on how to set up an Android Tablet to interact with networks?  

I know that SkyDrive allows potential access to streaming videos and media but I believe you have to load it to the cloud drive to be downloaded to the tablet.  Is that true? 

I'm looking for better ways to directly access network shared drives on my server by the android device (tablet, or phone).  

From what I have experienced, third party apps are the way to go, especially one named BSPlayer.  They all play content just fine, but this one seems to integrate with Windows network the best, at least for me.

From what I have experienced, third party apps are the way to go, especially one named BSPlayer.  They all play content just fine, but this one seems to integrate with Windows network the best, at least for me.

Thanks jmwills.

I will look for that one.   I have been trying several of these players and found that VPlayer will open and play iso files of DVD's without converting them to avi or mp4 files.  I just tried realplayer, joesvlc, and VLCeu players.  They do not recognize iso files either.

The youtube video for the BSPlayer states that it has many codecs built in so it may work also.  The youtube video shows a gui that looks easy enough for my wife to navigate without too much hassle.   She is a smart woman - she just wants to be able to "use the thing and not have to make it into a research project".

On a related topic;