RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

N54L and Icy Dock install

SmokinOakum

Hello to all. This is my first post and I am excited to be a part of the discussion. I have just ordered the HP ProLiant G7 N54L and the ICY DOCK MB971SP-B to fit the included 250GB hard drive and a 128GB SSD. I am new to the server world and I need some guidance on how to install the icy dock. The biggest questions are, will I have all the connectors that come with the Icy Dock to make all the connections to the motherboard. I plan on mirroring the two drives for the OS so from I've read I'll need to do the BIOS Mod and use the SATA ports 4 and 5. I'm sure once the box gets here and I put an eye on it things will become more clear but I always like to have a plan in place. I was kinda hoping there was some type of guide for doing this project but I can't seem to find it.

I'm very grateful to be with so many experts with these types of boxes. Thanks in advance!

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ikon

• Joe_Miner

• Just Checking

• SmokinOakum

Thanks for the quick reply Joe_Miner. I did see that thread but I was unsure about the cables. It listed a 18” SATA Cable and an eSATA to SATA cable as cables used. I'm kinda grey on the differences and their uses. Do I need to two different kinds or can both drives be connected using one option. Sorry if I sound unsure of myself...I am!

·

Hello SmokinOakum,