RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

My first server project

Infiniti

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. I always wanted to build a home server and finally I decided to build one :). I'm planning to build a very basic server for now until I get used to windows home server 2011 and then I'll

be upgrading it slowly.

The parts I have so far are:

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H rev 1.0
CPU:              Intel I3 3220T
Ram:              Patriot intel extreme masters 8GB PC3-12800C9 1600MHz

CPU cooler:    Standard cooler for now but i'll be buying Noctua NH-C14

Case:             Cooler master sniper for now but i'll be buying a Fractal define R4

PSU:               Cooler master 1000W (I know it's over kill but i'll change it asap for a Seasonic fanless 460W platinum)

HDD for OS:   Hitachi 160GB

There are 2 other things which I haven't decided yet, the OS and the HDD for storage. Maybe you can give me some advice, please.

The server will be used for backups and media streaming for a large movie collection. As for the storage drives I'm planning for 2 x 3TB in RAID 1 for now, in the future I would like to have a RAID 6 configuration which mean I'll be buying a raid card.

I've been looking at the WD reds, maybe you can give me some advice.

Thanks

Hello and welcome.

WHS 2011 will serve your needs just fine.  You've addressed storage but nothing for server backups as those need to be on a dedicated drive.  The MOBO and CPU look to be fine for this project.

• Like 1

I will offer this advice in regards to HDD choices.  Each person has their own personal preference and that usually determines what they use.

If you are comfortable with the REDS then use them.  if you are looking for opinions on drives then look at this thread. http://homeservershow.com/forums/index.php?/topic/5355-drive-reliability-and-fail-rates/

• Like 1