RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

What should I consider for starting my own home server?

Rod at home

Yet, I know, probably too wide open a starting question. Well, I'm not always the best at coming up with the right question, but I've got to start somewhere. So, starting with the topic title, let me elaborate.

I've got an HP Pavilion Elite desktop PC. I work as a Windows software developer, and so I needed a beefy machine for development, testing, etc. My PC is about 4 years old, at least. Recently, it seems to me as though it is becoming quite unreliable. Just today, while trying to print a Word document, the instant I clicked on the Print button my monitor went blank, and what's worse is the Word document didn't print. I figure that if the issue was with the monitor (which also seems to be failing as the black is no longer that black) the Word document would have proceeded to print, but it didn't. Turning the monitor off and back on again didn't help, so I did a hard boot of the system (I hate doing that, so only do it when necessary). So I'm thinking that my desktop PC is giving out on me. In the past I would always replace it with a new, powerful desktop PC, but in today's day and age, that no longer seems appropriate. Plus in December I purchased a powerful enough Song Vaio laptop, with Windows 8 on it, that I believe I can do my development work on there. Therefore, I'm seriously considering the possibility of replacing my desktop with a Windows Server, and naturally I thought of the Windows Home Server podcast, this website, etc.