RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Is a N40L with 8GB RAM powerful enough for this?

FriedCPU

Hi,

Been reading this forum for a while, and have recently purchased a N40L which I will upgrade to 8GB RAM (until I can get 16GB)

When I first get it I intend todo the following:

1x64GB SSD for OpenIndiana
5x2TB in ZFS RAIDZ1

Running Sickbeard, CouchPotato, rTorrent and SabNZBd along with Samba, AFP, FTP.

I have never used ZFS before, I used to have a Linux RAID5 using mdadm, and twice I have been burned with it losing superblocks and other problems, completely losing my data, most recently 6TB's worth of photos, tv shows and movies.

I have read that ZFS can use alot of RAM, I am hoping the 8GB will be enough for the above setup, but in the coming months I am hoping to purchase one these

http://www.sansdigital.com/towerraid-/tr8mplusb.html

Putting the PCIe 1x card into the N40L and filling it with 8x4TB disks in a RAIDZ2 for 24TB usable or RAIDZ3 for 20TB usable.

if I upgrade the server then to 16GB RAM, would it run all of the above processes + the 2 ZFS pools?

Otherwise has anyone got any suggestions as to what setup would be best if I cannot use ZFS, I am proficiant with Linux systems and willing to learn *nix systems. Do not really want to use Windows for a server, but will if there is a compelling argument todo so.

Thanks for any help :)

FriedCPU

Edited by FriedCPU

No.