RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Free Hyper-V 2012 & Domain Controllers

Unguided

Hi all. I have been recently researching free hyper-v 2012 and I like what it can do from what I have read and seen on youtube. I like that there is not restrictions such as ram limits etc like free ESXi has. So here is the question: Is it safe or a good practice to run a domain controller such as WS2012E as a vm? My concern is that if the hyper-v box goes down it takes everything including domain infrastructure down with it. I have read discussions on the forum where best practice is to allow WS2012E to handle dhcp, dns etc. I am also very new to servers and hyper-v in general and worry about "screwing" something up with hyper-v and taking down the network. The follow up questions would be if is it not a good practice would the n54l be fast enough to handle streaming dvd, blu ray etc to htpc's as my son likes to bust up the original dvd, so I was gonna convert them for playback on the htpc. Also, I know I can use WS2012 and install the hyper-v role but that seems to be a very expensive way to go for a home user. I would be interested to know how some have set there network up. I have read no controls article on his website which is very well written but I think he is using WS2012. Thanks for the advice and information 

You sir would be correct.  However if you have a UPS, or not, there is a setting in the BIOS that once power is reaotred, the server can boot back up to an operational state.  If you have someone at home who can push a button, then I would not worry about it.

Enterprises get around this by usually keeping half of their DC's in a physical state.

As far as DHCP, DNS, etc this all depends if you join clients to the Domain or not.  If yes, then let the server handle those roles.  If not, keep them on the router.