RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HP EX487, 4GB, E5300 CPU, OCZ Octane 128GB SSD, 500GB HDD - needs PSU

msawyer91

Some of you probably saw my note yesterday about my EX487 power cycling itself. Today I removed all doubt--the power supply needs to be replaced.

Between my family, my full-time job and my side business, I just don't have the time to deal with repairing this server. It wasn't an easy choice, but I decided to sell it to a good home. Because the PSU requires replacement, I'm selling the server as is, for parts.

Here's the full description on MediaSmartServer.net with pictures: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13087

Shoot me a PM if you're interested or have questions. The asking price is $250 which includes shipping to US. I'm open to offers, and am willing to ship internationally, although international shipping will incur additional costs. PayPal is preferred, but as a business owner I can accept checks drawn on US accounts, ACH and credit cards by fax.

Yep, sellers remorse kicked in. I decided to keep it and order a new PSU for it instead. PSU came yesterday and I stress tested it yesterday to confirm that the old PSU was in fact the problem. The server never had any trouble with the new one, so later today or maybe this weekend I'll rebuild it and put it back into production.

I cracked open the old PSU and saw that while it looked good overall, on closer inspection a couple of the capacitors' domes were bulging a little bit--when they should be flat as a board. That would likely explain the intermittent drop-outs the PSU experienced under continuous high load.

Replace a few capacitors and you likely would have a spare PSU for your unit.

Don't tempt me. That thought has crossed my mind. It might be tricky, however, as a bunch of them seem grouped together in a pretty tight cluster and that's where my bulbous capacitors reside. It looks like two of them for sure have curved domes--possibly a third.