RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

How much power is needed for Blu-Ray?

DblCrsOvr

I am brand new to the Windows Home Server idea. Currently, I have a desktop (Windows 7) that I use to house all of my music and some movies. This is a machine that was a beast about 5 years ago, so it had quite a bit of power, but not something that I want to leave on 24/7.

So, now I am interested in building a Windows Home Server to replace my old machine. The question that I have is how much power do I need for my server (Not wattage, but performance). I want to scale it down as far as I can to make it run as cheaply as possible, since it will run 24/7.

Now, for the wrinkle:
I want to load all of my Blu-Ray movies on the server to be served up to machines that I will either build or purchase next to each TV. I understand that playing a Blu-Ray requires a pretty strong system, but which system needs the power? Is it the home server, or the satellite machine that needs the power to play the Blu-Ray? I figure that as far as the server is concerned, it is just serving up a file, so all it has to do is serve it up fast enough.

So, that would mean that my server could be an exceedingly light machine. How light can I go? I want it with as small of a footprint as I can get it, though I would like 4 SATA ports. So, maybe a Atom Ion machine? Anything else I should make sure to include? I am thinking that the server could have the Blu-Ray drive, so I think I would do my ripping there, but I am not married to the idea.

Anyone see any flaw in my logic, any potential trouble spots, or any considerations that I should take into account?

Ripped Blu-ray disks use up a large amount of hard drive space. You may want to figure out how large the file size is for a typical Blu-ray when stored on a server. Then look at the WHS you are thinking about building (or buying) and be sure it is scalable to handle all the storage media.