RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Which Home Server Operating System? (req. combined HD's)

slim_j

Hi all, and a merry christmas :)

Just come across this site and it looks like a great community.

Last year I built a home server along with a friend; It is designed to stream media around my home. I am a bit of a noob but have a basic knowledge.

HOME SERVER 1

HOME SERVER 3

HOME SERVER 4

Essentially I needed a server that had a single pool of storage so that media players (eg. popcorn hour) could pick up the files easily. I have previously used Windows Home Server 2003 which has Driver Extender and did everything i wanted.

I now to reinstall the operating system and am considering an upgrade of something new altogether. I am annoyed that Windows has discontinued WHS but i am hearing Windows 8 is going to the be the way to go. It has Storage Spaces which is meant to act like 'Drive Extender' and i can access stuff on my Xbox too. I have however also read to look into Linux systems as they do the same and are more stable?

What i need to know if what would you advise? Essentially it needs to be easy-ish to set up but also stable.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, slim_j

Depends on what you need/want to do. If you want automated backups, I still think WHS2011 is the way to go for a non-system administrator type. My problem with using Windows 8 is the lack of automated full backups of your other pc's. Windows 8 will automatically backup your libraries to another pc on the network, but I don't think it will do a full backup so you have to reinstall and configure windows on a pc where the drive dies. May be wrong on this but haven't really looked since what I have works.

I set up one of the original home servers for a friend and it works ok, but I find the WHS 2011 a big improvement. Installs and sets up easily and pretty easy to configure. Two big considerations: you need 64 bit hardware and you need to compensate for lack of drive extender.