RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

My first server, raid. My first anything and everything. Help?

trepak

As the title says, I am a noob! I might? know want I to do with the N40L, but not how.

How to install and what OS and software on USB stick and such I can deal with later. I want to buy this on amazon as soon as possible because I want it before cristmas. A gift from me to me :3

So I am wondering it there is something I absolutely should get, or if there is something I could do without:

This post took a while, it is getting late and I am extremely tierd. I was late for work today because of googleing last night. So dumb question may accure.

I have one laptop that I use for Steam, Mediaporatl, foobar and firefox, to a tv. I have it connected to a external hdd (1.5 tb wd) witch is getting full. I use another laptop to download to the external hdd at night time, because it is smaller than the "htpc" laptop. I live in a two story flat appartment (?(my english is bad)) so I share internett and only have wireless internet.

So what i wanted, when I first started searching, was just more space or a DAS to have a storage for my audio / video collection. But I wanted RAID, because (and I know I might be correced now) I feel like it is "safer" to have one drive fail and still be able to save it (raid1 - 5 ?), than it is to have JBOD and loose a full disk with all my music. When I move I will use it as a NAS, but for now a das will do.

So here is the things I need help with, if this can be done, and if there is a smarter way for it. I did not know what to search for, so if there is links or any tips at all is highly appreciated