RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

WHS Security

katardrax

Hi all!!
Been listening to the podcast since #1 and I am finally getting around to get in to the forums.

So why is WHS security never talked about? Is the environment that secure that it isn't an issue (kinda don't think so)? Really, you are opening ports on your network and allowing connections in, this is never good! I am a security professional by trade and I would love to hear some comments or a show on the subject. I have been trying to get Steve Gibson (GRC.com / TWIT Security Now) to make some comments as well.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• usacomp2k3

• dvn

• Removed

• katardrax

You're right, that is something that isn't talked about much. I think most of us are content with not thinking about it :P

I guess that security is covered by the https login page and a complex password. But not necessarily one of those Steve Gibson 63/64 character Perfect Passwords conglomerations. But if this is not considered secure enough, I might take an old beige box and load the free version Astaro on it. Heck, I think I might do that anyways, just to have a look.

This reminds me of something I heard a long time ago, so I'm not sure of the details.

I heard that Microsoft offers some kind of protection when you go through the Remote Access page.

My Servers at home are behind an ISA2006 server but it is over kill for home and I am going to drop back to something like a sonicwall or maybe just a linksys router. WHS is SBS2003 Core so I would say it is as secure as opening ports for an SBS server, which is done all the time, a few are behind enterprise firewalls but most small business will not spend $300 on a firewall much less something like ISA.