RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Esxi on the microserver.. I'd this possible?

jamin100

I'm looking at setting up my microserver to act as a backup server and a small home lab for 70-680

It's the n40l with 8gb ram. It's got a 160gb, 250gb 2 x 1tb and a 120gb ssd drive.

I'm looking for the best way to set all this up with esxi

I'm thinking about putting esxi on a USB drive on the internal USB port.

I'd then use the ssd to host the vm's.

I'd want one vm to act as a backup server for the macs in my house so looking for it to be able to access the 1tb drive. Not sure wether to use something like Freenas or a windows server for this?

The other vm's would be one server (2008r2) and 2 w7 clients. I'd use these to run through the labs in 70-680

The other thing is, I have no experience in esxi... Is all this even possible?

Or would you recommend something else?

Thanks in advance

Absolutely possible and I have done this exactly as you describe with the exception of the additional storage. I think the internal port is a better option to keep everything secure.

Not sure how you will backup the MAC's but you could use Timemachine as the primary backup and then copy those files over to the server.

I have 2 hdds in my old iMac. One 1tb "data" drive and the other Is a 120gb SSD os and applications drive..

I'm currently using carbon copy cloner to copy the data onto a windows 2008r2 share wirelessly on the microserver

I just need something for labbing now and thought I'd get a bit of exposure to esxi at the same time

Edited by jamin100

Those drives would be designated as Data Stores or some sort of an array if this is even possible thru the N40L BIOS, not quite sure. To save room on those drives, make sure you "thin provision" the new Virtual Drives for any new VM.

This will insure that you do not use any more space that is actually needed to run with, In other words, you can actually over allocate the available drive if needed. Not physically but virtually.