RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Which 4-bay Synology to get?

eagle63

Hey guys, I've been using WHS (both v1 and now 2011) for a few years but I'm getting very curious about Synology. I currently have a 4-bay Drobo (2nd generation) that I use for some miscellaneous things (such as a time machine backup for my mac mini) It's fine, but it's horribly slow and from a software/features standpoint the Synology machines seem to utterly blow-away Drobo. (maybe Drobo's market is more on the enterprise side? certainly for home usage though they just don't compare)

I'm definitely not planning on dumping WHS, I love it and use it everyday. But I would like to have a NAS that can act as a Time Machine destination for the Macs in my house. (my Drobo cannot do that over the network nor can WHS2011) So, I guess my specific question is if anyone has any experience comparing the lower-end 4 bay model (the 413j) to either of the higher-end models. (the 412 or 412+) From what I can tell you gain CPU and ram as you move up the chain, but I have no idea how important that is for a typical home setup. I have a feeling the 412+ is probably overkill, and I also have a hunch that the 413j would probably serve my needs just fine - but if I'm going to spend the money I'd hate to regret not getting the faster model somewhere down the road.

Any feedback is appreciated!

Quick question. Do you need 4 bays? Just curious since you already have the WHS but I can see some folks needing more bays if they are going to backup the server to the NAS and use it as a Time Machine. The CPU and RAM will help if you're going to use the box for add on apps and surveillance. Things like that. If it's just going to be a destination and backup device I think you can get away with the "j." Don't forget to compare the external ports though if they are important to you.