RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Anyone using Hyper-V Server 2012 with WHS 2011

edamiga1

I have been using Windows 2008 R2 Core with Hyper-V for the last 18 months or so and have had great success with this. I recently have had a couple of issues and an considering upgrading to 2012, but wanted to see if anyone had done this or is planning on doing this shortly.

I use my server to run WHS 2011, Windows 8 Development box, Windows 7 as a media server for XBox with my movies, old WHS V1, and a couple of other machines.

A couple of questions:

1. Has anyone done this, any known issues/risks with moving to 2012 Hyper-V.
  2. Thoughts on using drive pools on the 2012 server and passing these through to WHS 2011? Risks?
  3. Potential benefits and other risks?

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• CablDeViL

• jmwills

• edamiga1

• Jason

A good test would be to stand up a virtual 2012 server and run WHS inside of that, Wait, can you go two levels deep?

A good test would be to stand up a virtual 2012 server and run WHS inside of that, Wait, can you go two levels deep?

I have not had luck with 2 levels deep. I tried but the VM does think you have VM enabled on the hardware side.

I would be hesitant to do this, a little too much virtualization;-)

I would look to having Hyper-V 2012 on the bare metal and then WHS 2011 as a guest on that. Basically what I have today, just swapping out 2008 R2 with 2012.

Just finished upgrading my WS2008R2 box to WS2012 Standard GUI. Migrated over my WHS2011 and Win8Pro hyper-v VMs. Have not yet converted them to the new VHDX hyper-v 3.0 file format. Am already loving WS2012; seems to perform better than WS2008 on same hardware. Once WSE2012 reaches RTM, I may consider replacing my WHS2011 VM with a WSE2012VM for client backups.