RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
jdell42

DE or RAID for 24-48 TB?

jdell42

New to the forumn so thanks in advance for some advice.

I have been running WHS v1 for ~3-4 years on an Acer H340 and dealt with the annoyances. Over the years I have added a Sans Digital 8 bay expansion with a RocketRaid 622 card. I was at 23TB and nearly full (with folder duplication turned on) before I ran into problelms.

Recently the server would lockup after about 2 min of run time. Several reboots and the same problem. Removed all drives and ran check disk and found no problems. I attempted a system restore on the system drive and it would continuously fail. After about 20 attempts I finally managed a full restore of the system drive and have a working sever with 11 drives of data that do not belong to the drive pool and the annoyance of fixing that.

I realized a while ago I was probably pushing the limits of the hardware and OS with 23 TB of data and the possibility for multile HD video streams accessing it simultaneously. I deciced to bite the bullet and go for a 24 bay Norco Chassis and upgrade my HS setup.

Now given the large existing capacity I have and the opportunity to double it over time I was wondering what hte prevaliing opinions are regarding managing the data. WHS V1 drive entender worked OK for me.. but I always had a very uneasy sense of a melt down and it finally came. I am cautious about the 3rd party apps for replicating DE in 2011 but equally cautious about trying to run a Raid 5 or 6 array under WHS 2011 as I dont know how easy expanding and contracting the pool would be. I would like to stay with Windows as thats what I know. I read / viewed PCDOC's posts on using RAID and it looks easy enough... but looking for the prevailing opinions and pros/cons of the options.

Thanks,

John

Technogod