RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Backup Strategy For The Technologically Challenged

awraynor

I work in the medical field in clinical medicine while having a secondary role involving

an independent office. The manager of the secondary site runs very basic desktops for the staff

with no real backup strategy. They asked my opinion on backup and I cringed knowing

their reluctance to spend money while also knowing their computer literacy level is quite low.

I acknowledge the 3-2-1 rule and thought first about CrashPlan or maybe Carbonite for offsite

backup. The data must be safeguarded as it contains confidential patient information. CrashPlan

Pro offers 448 bit encryption and unlimited backup, they only want to backup two of the desktops

(as I smash my hand onto my forehead thinking about this). True unlimited backup would help,

the entirety of data to be backed up is probably 200GB or less, but who knows what the future would hold.

Next I thought about a prefab box, the HP N40L, WHS 2011 with red drives, maybe 2 or 3TB in RAID 1.

My one worry about the box is if there are troubles, is that thing a best to work on ? Any superior

reasonably priced alternatives to the MicroServer?

Thanks for your help.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• awraynor

• jmwills

• ikon

• Joe_Miner

Top Posters In This Topic

So you have an issue with the Microserver for reliability? For the value, I don't think it can be beat, especially for what you need it for.

You could setup custom backup schedules at mid-day and at the end of day and also enable shadow copies for the "challenged" to restore their own lost files.

No, I don't really know much about the MicroServer, just wanted to know it is serviceable if needed.

They were using a external Samsung drive which quickly filled up as I figured. The non-manager

was backing up her songs, etc. and non-critical data.