Jump to content
RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Server Backup


wjburl
 Share

Recommended Posts

When I installed WHS 2011, the 500GB drive was partitioned into a small one for the OS and a larger one for the typical shared folders. I later moved those folders to the RAID drive. The old folders are still there, but empty. I was wondering if I could put my server on that partition and and use Allway Sync to copy the backup to my NAS.? Are there any pitfalls in doing this?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guess I found out by trying. The wizard didn't find any available drives. I have a 2TB, USB 3.0 drive that I will probably try. Now I have to figure out a way to make use of that larger partition on the drive that has the OS partition.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Now I have to figure out a way to make use of that larger partition on the drive that has the OS partition.

 

Why? It's not like it cost much. If you like, you could use Disk Mangler to extend the OS partition, if you wanted to install other stuff on the OS (SQL Server, SharePoint, etc.). Otherwise, why not just write it off as part of the cost of WHS2011? I completely fail to understand why people think they just absolutely have to use up this empty space.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

Why? It's not like it cost much. If you like, you could use Disk Mangler to extend the OS partition, if you wanted to install other stuff on the OS (SQL Server, SharePoint, etc.). Otherwise, why not just write it off as part of the cost of WHS2011? I completely fail to understand why people think they just absolutely have to use up this empty space.

 

 

I guess the empty space has to be used and it is not reasonable to leave it empty.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Once the server backup drive fills up, you could copy/archive those files to that volume, format the existing drive and reuse it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I guess the empty space has to be used and it is not reasonable to leave it empty.

 

Well, yeah, actually it is perfectly reasonable to leave it empty, although I still think expanding the OS partition is the best use of the space.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No can do with the expansion. Once that volume size is set...that's it, at least from within the Disk Mgt applet.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...