RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Need motherboard advice...

Boznicky

Howdy all...

Been lurking for a long time on this board, but I never had any advice to give or really had any questions.

I have been using Windows Server (v1) for quite a while and, because of a failure of my HP EX485, I decided to build a WHS 2011 box (I am currently without a server and it is a very big inconvenience to the family)

Now, I have a lot of experience building gaming rigs, but not servers.

I purchased a motherboard (a GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3) based on the number of successful builds posted in this forum using the Gigabyte board.

Well, I put the box together tonight and I ran into the "endless boot loop" issue that has been discussed all over the internet. After checking that it was not a short or a RAM issue, I immediately processed a return to Amazon and will be shipping it out tomorrow.

So, I need a motherboard...

I would like the board to have the following features:

Support for the i5 (Ivy Bridge)

• 4 SATA 6.0 Gb/s connectors
  • 2 (or more) SATA 3.0 Gb/s connectors
  • USB 3.0
  • Raid 1 support
  • And all of the other normal stuff like onboard video, sound, etc.

I am not married to the Z68 chipset, so if you want to recommend a Z77, I am cool with that.

Also, I have a MicroCenter in town, so if you want to recommend an ASUS, ASRock, Intel, BioStar or another Gigabyte, I may be able to pick it up tomorrow.

Your input is appreciated...

Regards,

The Boz

Guest no-control

I would recommend a z77 board at this point. Unless cost is a major issue. I like both Asus and Gigabyte. Which one really depends on size and features you want.

You didn't mention board size (ATX, mATX, etc.)

Here's a list of boards at Microcenter that meet your criteria.

http://www.microcenter.com/search/search_results.phtml?sortby=pricelow&N=4294966996%2B4294939941%2B4294936811%2B4294945053

I agree with no-control, I would stick with Asus ,Gigabyte or Intel.