RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Install programs on WHS and run them on remote?

LGer

Guys.... I just installed a new 128GB SSD in my main computer and am trying to come up with ways to keep as much as possible off of it. I would install another hard drive but I have only 2 SATA ports and the other is being taken up by my DVD Player.

My question: Can I install World of Warcraft on my server and play it on my LR computer? It writes nothing to the registry. Seems that all I would need to do is to install it there. put a launcher on my LR computer, and be good to go. Nothing is that easy! :D What problems might I run into (slow, stutter, etc)?

Also..... My Print Shop program is huge. THIS probably writes to the registry. Could this be installed on my LR computer but told to install it's files on the server? Again.... What problems might I run into (if it can even be done)?

Thanks all! As you can probably tell I am new to this networking/server thing so PLEASE :wacko: answer in childspeak. I know computers well BUT when it comes to this I feel like a complete newb!

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jmwills

• ikon

• fredp1

• LGer

Top Posters In This Topic

I think you're barking up a pretty tall tree. I would consider installing a PCIe SATA card in your main computer, one that has internal SATA ports. Then, add a second, spinning, drive to your computer to hold your large programs and your data.

What you might gain from installing on the server's SSD drive, will be lost in latency over the network, IMO.

Thank you! This is what I wanted to know. My MB is a mini ITX, has one PCI slot, but the case has no outlet point..... I actually have a SATA card in storage but no PCIe slot to install it to. I would LOVE to put that baby in there but .....