RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

A dumpster dive HP Pavillion a1210n, AMD 3500+ as a WHS 2011?

RoyKnapp

A newbie here asking for advice.

I never built a WHS V1 but just purchased WHS 2011 and need advice on inexpensive hardware to install it on.

I dumpster dive at this one dumpster from a small computer service store near where I live. I've pulled out over 30 PC's from their dumpster. Some are missing processors, hard drives and memory. Some are all there and boot up fine when I get them home. Most have P4 3GHz or below processors and a few have various AMD's.

I'm on a tight budget as I'm unemployed so I would like to use one of these PC's to build a WHS 2011.

Question:

Does anyone think that HP Pavillion a1210n, with a AMD 64 3500+ processor, run OK as a WHS 2011?

I can upgrade the memory to maybe 4 gig and install a 1 gig hard drive from my dumpster my diving parts.

The 1 gig HD was still under warranty, sent it in and got a replacement for free.

Thanks for any advice!

The number of PC's in the garage is out of hand so now I'm stripping down some of the lessor ones to take for recycling. I'll make a few bucks from this but not much as they pay by the pound. Power supplies will probably pay the most out of all the PC parts.

I'm enjoying the Home Server podcast on my 3 hour drives between Ocean City MD to Baltimore MD. Thanks to all for making my drive a bit easier!

Roy

1 gig HD?

As long as you are not doing anything fancy with the OS such as transcoding and ripping, that processor should be fine and throw all the memory you can at it.

If you are able to sell enough of the reclaimed units, some of the guys will occasionally sell good equipment for GOOD prices here so keep coming back.

Good luck with the job search and welcome.

Welcome to the forums. Sorry to hear your situation is so tight. But, congrats on your resourcefulness.