RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
leeism

Folder sharing, security and web access

leeism

Hi All

This is my first post and I am pretty new to this stuff but am looking for some ideas on the issues I am seeing with my new install of WHS2011.

I am trying to figure out how to use groups to control folder sharing but it seems that all of it has to be done through the dashboard, my questions are:

1. If I create a group in local users and groups should I just be able to add uses to the group and then add that group to the security tab on the folders properties?
  2. Will that replicate to the Web Access? As it seems that if I grant access to a user through the Web Access but restrict it in the folder security the user still have access on the Web
  3. is there any difference with security access using web access compared to the local network access?

Thanks

Lee

pcdoc

WHS is designed to set up from the dash board. You create users, give them access rights, and you are good to go. It can be done other ways but it can get messy. What stops you from just setting up users? What are you trying to accomplish?

leeism

Thanks, I dont really want to have to set up all the users every time I set up a share, so I was hoping to create a few groups to just add people them.

So when you mention it can be done other ways, what are they please?

Lee

jmwills

As pcdoc said, WHS is designed for the first time user to help facilitate the sharing of data. Unless you fully understand File and Share Permissions, you can grant access to data that you did not otherwise intend to do.