RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New WHS2011 Build

kcormier

First off, I'll admit it, I'm a lurker :(

I have been reading this message board and listening to the podcasts for a couple years now.

Thanks to the numerous posts and personalities here, I've been a happy WHSv1 builder/user and thought I would stay that way until I got the "itch" to move forward (for better or for worse) to WHS2011 and "separate out" my SageTV server from my WHS.

So, having done more of what lurkers do, I read, investigated and migrated to a new WHS2011 build based on the tremendous wealth of information on this site:

• Fractal Design Arc Midi case; amazing amount of room to work with and great design
  • OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W power supply; great value and modular
  • GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 motherboard
  • Intel Core i3-2120 CPU
  • G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB memory
  • OS: ICY DOCK MB982SPR-2S enclosure; 500GB RAID1 of 2008R2/WHS2011VM
  • Storage: HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL controller; 500GB RAID1 (critical data), 4TB RAID5 (media)
  • Backup: WHS2011 Server Backup and critical RAID1 data to Amazon S3 (via Cloudberry)
  • Miscellaneous: Scythe KM02-BK 5.25" Bay Fan Controller, Thermaltake N0023SN Max 4 3.5" SATA HDD Rack

The overall build went fairly straightfoward and no surprises (had previously built mt WHSv1 server and a test/play VM server).

My only real difficulty came in the media data migration. Like most of you, I had thought to just network copy the files over my GIGE network but kept running into intermittent failures/slowness when using Robocopy/Teracopy/whatever that caused me to doubt the reliability.

I just wanted the migration over with so I opted to pull the drives (from WHSv1) and manually recover the data using the HDD rack above.

Using Robocopy, I copied that data from the drives directly into the RAID5 array - quick, easy and everything transferred without a single glitch.