RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

help me decide between HP microserver vs Synology NAS

capall

Hi all,

I'm new to this server stuff and trying to decide between an off the shelf NAS or a WHS box. My needs and decision points are listed below. I'm not looking for a "which is best answer", which is a poor question, but trying to get pros/cons/features of each so I can make my own decision. Thanks

I've narrowed it down to Synology DS212j with 2x2TB drives mirrored and the HP microserver, same drives. I'd like an off the shelf solution rather than build my own, (the microserver seems to be the only budget WHS at the moment)

1. Backup 2 laptops and store images

2. Be able to restore an image to a new drive installed in a laptop, when the existing one fails

3. Space requirements are about 2TB for near future (30GB files, 300GB music, 50GB photos, videos starting out)

4. Would like mirroring to reduce down time when a drive fails

5. Stream video, photos, music for playback, to htpc or media player, max 2 streams at the same time

6. Would run client backup each night, and probably server backup to external drive also

Q's

1. How do you back up the data in each unit (I'm viewing my mirror as ..not a real backup), just a case of attaching a ext. USB or esata drive?

2. can you easily back up the WHS OS in case of drive failure?...downtime is not critical, so mirror not required

3. What happens when a system component fails in the NAS..dead in the water? vs the same happening to the microserver (ie motherboard fries). (Understand the microserver is more servicable than the NAS)

4. Do either monitor drive health and is it that important

5. Should I just get the NAS for now, and wait and see what happens with Windows 8 (server)

Thanks

capall