RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Booting WHS 2011 Off RAID5

coxhaus

I am new to WHS 2011 but have loaded other servers before. I have retired from work and feel like I don’t need all the complexity of running server 2008 r2 with hyper V. I just need to store family pictures, music and documents now. I have a server already built with 2008 r2 hyper V which I was thinking of changing over to WHS 2011. The box is home built with an Intel Entry level server motherboard and an Intel RAID5 scrsas18e card with 6 drives in Raid5. The drives are setup with a SuperMicro rack case with hot swap.

Is there any reason why WHS 2011 would not run on this hardware since server 2008 r2 is already running? I ask this question because looking over this site it looks like everybody uses a separate physical system drive for WHS 2011 OS. I am not sure why as the OS doesn’t benefit from the RAID5. All that would be required to use the OS on the RAID5 would be to create a 2 terabyte or less partition so you could boot with the RAID5. I assume when you install WHS 2011 you are able to use the F6 key the same as server 2008 r2, to load the RAID drives to install the OS on the RAID5. I think it would be beneficial to pool all the drives in the RAID5 for through put and less wasted drive space providing you have not exceed the capacity of your Raid card. Can someone comment on this?

A lot of the crowd here seems to be migrating over to smaller SSD drives for the OS. For your question, I want my OS separated from the data so I would not use one large RAID 5 partition for the server OS and data.

You might also think about using a pair of 2.5" laptop SATA drives with onboard RAID1 and then use a controller card for the data.

Just my 02.