RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Building my first WHS and would like your thoughts

litow14

I have been buidling PCs for about 15 years but this will be my first WHS. I have watched all of pcdoc's videos (not the guild ones) do to the fact that you cant teach me any thing i dont know about building a PC but I would like your thoughts about the parts i have picked out and would like your input. I plan on using it as a home server and a HTPC

I dont have a lot of money to start off but i do plan on getting more and more to have a large server.

Mother Board

I picked out a GIGABYTE GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=344432&sku=G452-0141

My reason for this board is because it has 6 SATA ports and 2 PCI Express X8 Slots (for Raid Controlers in the future). It supports RAID 5 and only costs $120

I think its a good deal for the price and i like GIGABYTE mother boards.

CPU (choices)

i3 2120 ($130) - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7295299&Sku=I69-0212

i3 2100 ($125) - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7295297&Sku=I69-0210

i3 540 ($100) - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5581942&Sku=I69-0540

Was thinking of the 540 save $30 however i do not plan on buying a video card. I dont feel that it will be a problem when comming to playing dvds and i dont plan on loading up programs on the server but i would like to know your ideas.

Ram

going 8gb 1333 what ever the cheapest was my thought.

Case

Been looking and looking and came across the Fractal Design Define XL. XL because it holds more HDDs. I am all about buying a case that i will use for years to come. I like the flat front and it justs looks good to me.

HDD's

I have a few laying around that i plan on one being the OP HDD but i do plan on making a RAID 5 setup So my quesits are.