RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

First WHS Build - thoughts please!

gizmocom

Hi Everyone,

I am planning my first WHS 2011 build at the moment and have found this forum and site to be invaluable in putting together what I think I want in terms of hardware. Thanks for all your hard work on it!

I have built a couple of PCs in the past, but not for a few years, so I would say I am a novice builder. I was going to first buy an ‘off-the-shelf’ package but could not find one I was entirely happy with and also wanted WHS 2011 so decided to make my own … it has been a steep learning curve for me over the last 10 days doing some research!

I want to use my WHS for normal operations (backing up 4 pcs, remote access to files for myself and family members, i-phone access to files, media streaming to PS3 etc etc) to start with, but soon plan on doing some HD transcoding to 2 different PCs in my house at once and also hopefully run a small website. So my spec may be overkill initially, but I want it to be future proof and don’t want to have to mess around with hardware too much in the future (apart from storage phase 2, see below).

I was originally looking at a mini ITX build in a Fractal R2 Array or Lian Li Q08 case, but then realised this would limit me in terms of future drive expansion and I do not need to have a small case as it will be seated under the desk in my study area at home. So my current thinking for parts is:

· Case: Fractal Design Define R3 (with 3.0 USB)

· MB: Gigabyte GA-H67MA-D2H-B3 (Micro ATX)

· CPU: i5 2500 (Retail)

· RAM: Gskill 8GB 1333 X Series Ripjaws

· PSU: Seasonic Fanless SS-460FL (Modular)

· OS HD: ???

· Storage HD: 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green

Once the hard drive prices have come down (they have dropped about 10% in the UK in just over a week, so hopefully will be more reasonable soon) then I will look to add another 5 to 6 more 2/3TB drives in either Raid 5 or 6 using a LSI 9240 MegaRAID 8 port card.