RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

First WHS 2011 Build - Need Advice

cjhusband

Hello,

This is my first post, sorry if I don't follow any expected etiquette.

My current system has finally given me one head ache too many, and it's time to move on. What I was working with was an HP Media Smart EX 490 (stock hd) with (2) additional hard drives (WD Caviar Green 2.0Tb). It worked well for quite a while, but over the last 6 months has become slow, unresponsive at times, and now, has konked out and won't allow re installation of the S/W on any drive placed in the main bay.

So, it's time for something new. After trying to deal with the HP MS, I don't want a headless system. I want to see what's happening. So building a WHS seems like the right idea.

I'm a student, and have a tight budget. Considering that I have the drives, I'd like to spend no more than $450.

What I need from you guys, the experts, it advice on a build plan. What CPU, what mobo, ect. I'm not so concerned with the case, it can be small and sexy, or big and ugly, it's going to be hidden away.

I'd like to have room to expand the hd space as needed.

Please let me know if you need any more details. I've tried searching components, but keep getting muddled in the options.

Many thanks,

Cheers,

Chris.

P.s. Located in Washington D.C.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pcdoc

• jmwills

• ikon

• cjhusband

Update:

I've started making some component decisions.

Case: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower $54.99

Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts Green EA-430D Green 430W Continuous power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply $59.99

Motherboard:GIGABYTE GA-Z68M-D2H LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX Intel Motherboard $114.99

Proccessor: Intel Core i3-2120 Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 2000 BX80623I32120 $119.99