RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Advice on new WHS build

melandchico

This is my first ever post on any forum so please forgive me if this is not done right.

Based on my research I'm going to build a WHS 2011 based home server using the following components;

Have: Antec Nine Hundred

WD Black 160 GB (for OS)

2 X 1.5TB WD Green

1 X 3TB Seagate Barracuda

Plan on Buying: i3 2120

Asus P8H67-M LX

Munshkin 2 X 2GB RAM

TR2 500W PSU

The main use of the system is for HD media storage and streaming(Ethernet) to my HTPC and also backing up document, home photos/videos.

My plan is to add 2 more 3TB drive to create a raid5 array once the price of the HDD goes down. I have never built a server before and any input would be great, like what raid card, if any, I should use or is the on board raid with the MoBo be just fine and is this setup acceptable or should I change anything. I'm not rich and I'm not locking to out perform any one, I just want a system that will serve my needs, no pun intended and last a few years.

Thanks for any input or help.

***For better response create a new thread in a forum. I've moved this for you ;) ***

Edited by no-control

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jmwills

• ikon

• Joe_Miner

• melandchico

Guest no-control

My honest opinion is to wait until you have 3 3TB HDDs then build the server. splitting the mirror for a RAID5 later is a pain especially if you have no where to move the existing data. On board RAID1 is fine, but I'm not a huge fan of the performance an on board RAID5. That being said its perfectly fine if you're looking to save some money.

I would also strongly recommend using the Corsair 430W PSU it's a solid well tested unit.